Laboratori Nazionali del Sud

NOTE! This site employs technical cookies only and does not trace any personal data

Please check the Privacy Policy Statement for more information. Learn more

I understand


Users committee

The Users Committee of the Laboratori Nazionali del Sud is a support link for the LNS users, mainly discussing the development proposal of the Laboratory, the technical, administrative and logistical problems of the users. The Committee is also an advisory board for the LNS management.

The Committee is composed by five members elected every two years by the assembly of the LNS users. The LNS users assembly are all people that in the last three years have participated to experiments related to various LNS activities (including activities in Catania harbor and Portopalo laboratories) or involving the use of the main LNS facilities as the Tandem and Cyclotron accelerators.

The User Committee have to inform the users about all news, initiatives, problems of the LNS via the existing LNS users database. On the other side the members collect requests, list of problems, suggestions for improvements, etc coming from the users and report them to the related LNS divisions or the LNS management, helping to find a possible solution. The User Committee is also a consultative committee of the LNS Director. The coordinator of the User Committee is invited to attend the meetings of the LNS Consiglio di Laboratorio as an observer.

The User Committee organizes each year the meeting of the LNS users, a one-day meeting in which the status of LNS research, new projects and users requests are discussed. The members have also the possibility to organize or support dedicated workshops related to important decisions, facility developments and upgrades that can have a big impact on the LNS users activity.

At present (2023 – 2024) the User Committee is composed by the following members:

Elena Geraci - coordinator (University of Catania and INFN-Catania, Italy)
Antonio D'Amico (NIKHEF, the Nederlands)
Chiara Guazzoni (Politecnico di Milano and INFN-Milano, Italy)
Sara Palmerini (University of Perugia and INFN-Perugia, Italy)
Antonio Trifirò (University of Messina and INFN-Catania, Italy)

and can be contacted through the mailing list


Read 3230 times